Regionalverband Mittlerer Oberrhein (Regional Association Middle Upper Rhine area)

Comprising an area of 2,137 square kilometres, the Middle Upper Rhine area is the smallest of the twelve planning regions in the state of Baden-Württemberg. Its regional borders include the cities of Karlsruhe and Baden-Baden as well as the rural districts of Karlsruhe and Rastatt. A total of 57 communities are part of the regional planning network.

The Regional Association Middle Upper Rhine area considers itself a mediator between people, economy and nature. The association is dedicated to a sustainable development of the regions and also acts as a representative both internally and externally. Comprehensive collaborations on a regional level form the foundation of the association’s work. The main tool used to achieve this and also the main product of the association is the so-called regional plan. This plan defines spatial development and regional planning for a period of 15 years.

Moreover, the Regional Association Middle Upper Rhine area co-operates with important partners on a regional and national level, such as TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe GbR, Touristik-Gemeinschaft Baden-Elsass-Pfalz e.V., Eurodistrictes Regio PAMINA, Trinationale Metropolregion Oberrhein and Wirtschaftsregion Mittelbaden.